Cantus Rosarum (2004)
1. Ode
2. Sonnet (sonetto primo)
3. Cantos
4. Sonnet (sonetto secondo)
5. Ballade

solo flute
Duration: 25 minutes
Premiere: Katherine Kleitz, flute; Metropolitan State College of Denver, February 15, 2005

Other performances:
Katherine Kleitz, flute, Harvard-Epworth Methodist Church, January 29, 2005, Cambridge, MA

Katherine Kleitz, Harvard Unitarian Church, January 30, 2005, Harvard, MA

Katherine Kleitz, Glenluce Garden, June 13, 2010, Stow, MA

Recordings: Airs to Charm a Lizard, Katherine Kleitz, solo flute music, December 2004, New England Compact Disc

Program notes:  
     Cantus Rosarum was composed in the spring and summer of 2004.  Katherine Kleitz, flutist and Iris Marcus, painter, the commissioners of Cantus Rosarum, have a Massachusetts backyard bursting with roses.  In the summertime, their home is a meeting place for their many artistic friends, poets, authors, painters and musicians.  Reflecting the hospitality shown in Katherine and Iris’ garden parties, Cantus Rosarum is inspired by poems about roses.
      The structure of Cantus Rosarum is based on rose imagery found in the poetry of Anacreon (c. 570 BC), Dante (1265-1321), Shakespeare (1564-1616), Christina Rossetti (1830-1894) and Richard Le Gallienne (1866-1947).  The five movements of the piece, Ode, Sonnet (sonetto primo), Cantos, Sonnet (sonetto secondo), and Ballade take their form from these selected poems either by projecting the sentiment of the poems or representing an instrumental setting of the text. 
     The poetry, spanning several time periods, suggests multifaceted symbols of the rose for example love, beauty, fertility, spiritual love, youth, and goodness. In a similar way, each movement of the music establishes a varying expressiveness.

>>return to listing