Litany of Joy (2006)
1. Prelude
2. Antiphon
3. Meditation

cello and organ (also versions for cello and piano; alto flute and piano)
Duration: 9 minutes

Premiere: Katherine Kleitz, alto flute; Marc Lauritson, piano; March 9, 2008; Sharon, MA (arrangement for alto flute, piano)

Other performances:
Dianne Bretkowski, cello; Nan Shannon, piano; Denver Eclectic Concerts; June 22, 2008; Denver, CO

Richard vonFoerster, cello; Reggie Berg, piano; Hazlerig Music House; March 29, 2009; Crestone, CO

Kitty Knight, cello; Nan Shannon, piano; Women Composers Concert sponsored by Regis University; March 30, 2009; Berkeley Community Church, Denver, CO

Richard vonFoerster, cello; Reggie Berg, piano; Modern Miscellanea; University of Denver Hamilton Recital Hall; April 2, 2009; Denver, CO

Richard vonFoerster, cello; Reggie Berg, piano; The Playground Ensemble concert fundraiser; June 6, 2009; Englewood, CO

Program notes:  A “litany” has two common meanings: one refers to a call and response form of prayer and the other meaning, perhaps less intimate, to a repeated word or phrase as in a “litany of cheers.” The three movements of Litany of Joy, “Prelude,” “Antiphon,” and Meditation” try to capture both ideas. The brief “Prelude,” shimmers with lyrical lines reaching upward as if to express anticipation of good news. Following without break is the “Antiphon” which makes direct reference both to antiphonal psalmody as well as antiphonal singing. Its simple melody passes back and forth between the cello and piano. “Meditation” completes the set with its peaceful opening giving way to an exuberant middle section.

>>return to listing